Highland Rim finished in the top spot of the 2020 Elk River Conference with a 18-0 win over Moore Co. in the championship game. The Hornets wrap up their season with an 8-0 record.

Highland Rim's Hornets won the Elk River Conference championship Saturday night at Meadows Thompson Stadium defeating Moore Co. 18-0.

With the inaugural season in 2017, it's the first time that the Central Division has taken the title.

Going into the playoff week from the Central Division was Highland Rim, (7-0); Unity, (6-2); South Lincoln, (4-4); and Flintville, 1-7. From the Pioneer Division was Moore Co., (7-1); Huntland, (6-2); Cornersville, (4-4); and South Giles, (4-4).

In the championship game, the Hornets were strong on both sides of the ball with break-a-way scores on offense and kept the Raiders out of the red-zone on defense in all four quarters.

After a scoreless first period, the first score for the Hornets came with 6:59 in the second on a long run by Rhett Persell. The two-point conversion failed and Highland Rim was up 6-0.

The Hornets second score came in the third frame when quarterback Maddox Franklin connected with Mick Smith. The two-point conversions failed. With 1:59 on the clock, Highland Rim was on top 12-0.

The final score of the night came with 6:35 in the fourth when Rhett Persell broke loose for his second score of the night. The two-point conversion failed. The Hornets finished with the shut-out 18-0.

"I couldn't be more proud of you guys," Coach Ryan Browning told his team following the game. "I'm speechless for the way you guys played tonight. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Moore Co. has a very good football team."

"It's been a tough year for everyone," he continued. "But you guys kept playing together and working through the season. You proved tonight that hard work pays off finishing with an undefeated season."

In Saturday's first game the Unity Lions defeated Huntland's Hornets, 28-16.

In other games, Thursday night the South Lincoln's Eagles defeated the Cornersville Bulldogs, 22-12. Flintville was defeated by South Giles, 54-12.

All conference superlatives were, Anthony Knight, Unity, Overall MVP; Bryson Carter, Moore Co., Offensive MVP; Tyler Archer, Huntland, Defensive MVP; Dakota Christian, Moore Co., Offensive Lineman MVP; and Omar Cabello, Highland Rim, Defensive MVP.

Receiving All-Conference honors from the Central Division, from Blanche, Jaedan Owen, and Elijah Parks; Flintville, Cole Evans, Brandon Custer, and Deric Sanders; Highland Rim, Omar Cabello, Will Tallman, Colton Tate, Rhett Persell, Maddox Franklin, and Bert Watt; South Lincoln, Cooper Davidson, Wilkerson "Willie" Pack, Will Waggett, and Trashawn Jean; Unity, Jacob Litaker, Anthony Knight, Tucker Bussell, Ethan Stevenson, and Deelee Feltman.