Slawburger Festival postponed; First Fridays begin April 2


With the countdown to spring and the beginning of daylight saving time March 14, Main Street is making plans for First Fridays; however, the annual April Slawburger Festival has been postponed until later in the year.

Main Street President Jason Nix said postponing the Slawburger Festival was a twofold decision by the Main Street Board, the Oversight Committee and the Chamber of Commerce. The Covid-19 pandemic remains a concern although numbers of local cases have gone done. Main Street has been going through a “lot of transition” in recent months, according to Nix, who became president last October. A fall date for the Slawburger Festival is being considered and will be announced when plans are finalized.

First Fridays begin April 2 and continue through October1. Vendors set up around the square from 4 – 7 p.m. offering fresh fruits and produce, baked goods, jams and jellies, crafts, handmade soaps, etc. Food trucks offer a variety of menus. Nix said vendors can sign up on Instagram and Main Street’s website. “We are hoping to get new vendors and we look forward to our ‘main-stay’ vendors,” he said.

For the second time in three years, Main Street is searching for new office space after the building housing its current location has sold. Nix said they have a few leads and look forward to getting settled into a new home.

The board is also actively searching for a new director. That position has been vacant since Lauren Honea’s resignation about a year ago. Working in conjunction with the Tennessee Main Street Program, they are “getting the application in order” to get that position filled.

“The landscape [of Main Street] is completely different,” Nix said, referring to the changes within the board. “We are navigating these waters. The best is ahead of us and we look forward to when we’re no longer wondering in the wilderness.”

Nix said that without community support and involvement, “the board is just that – a board. We have to have players in play to be successful, which gives us the ability to persevere.”

In addition to Nix, board members include Stephanie Britt, Aimee Byrd, Kirsti Gentry, Sharon Gonzalez, Donna Hartman, Tony Knott, Laura Mastin, Linda McKinney, Sunny Nix, Lauren Pigg and Debbie Sowder.

Fayetteville’s Main Street has kept its accreditation with the Main Street Program, through the Department of Economic & Community Development. Its goal is to help revitalize older and historic commercial districts, support small business and maintain and improve the quality of life within a community.