Lincoln County’s voters mirrored those across the state when it came to Thursday’s primaries.



Come November, businessman Bill Lee and former Nashville Mayor Karl Dean will square off in the race for Tennessee’s next governor.

Statewide, Lee carried 37 percent of the state, garnering 291,140 votes unofficially, in last week’s Republican primary for governor. Here in Lincoln County, he also carried the ballot, receiving 1,370 votes or 34 percent. Trailing were Randy Boyd, 192,914 votes (1,140 here), followed by Diane Black with 182,296 (1,184), Beth Harwell with 131,324 (315), Kay White with 3,212 (48), and Basil Marceaux, 1,267 (8).

In the Democratic primary for governor, Dean won 75 percent of the vote statewide, with 280,004 votes. Here, Dean received 68 percent or 655 votes. Craig Fitzhugh received 72,383 votes statewide (192 here), while Mezianne Vale Payne received 20,268 (111).


U.S. Senate

Tennessee Rep. Marsha Blackburn won the Republican primary for the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Bob Corker. She’ll face former Governor Phil Bredesen, who won the Democratic primary.

Blackburn eased to her win, carrying 84 percent of the vote statewide – 612,954 votes (3,260 or 84 percent here) – defeating Aaron Pittigrew, who received 112,587 votes (613).

Bredesen captured 92 percent statewide, 349,093 (851 or 86 percent here). Far behind were Gary Davis with 20,146 (83) and John Wolfe with 12,251 (49).


U.S. House

Incumbent Congressman Scott DesJarlais carried 70 percent of the vote in the Republican primary for the District 4 seat in the U.S. House, earning 61,979 votes (3,141 or 79 percent locally). He’ll face Mariah Phillips, who won the Democratic primary with 15,468 votes or 35 percent across the district (430 or 47 percent here).

DesJarlais defeated challenger Jack Maddux, who garnered 26,571 votes (857). Phillips defeated Christopher Hale, who had 11,305 votes districtwide (324), and Steven Reynolds, 5,786 (161 here).


State House, District 92

Incumbent State Rep. Rick Tillis, who won the Republican primary Thursday with 4,788 votes or 57 percent of the vote in the 92nd District, will face Scott Coffey, who was unchallenged in the Democratic primary, garnering 2,303 complimentary votes.

Tillis defeated Billy Spivey, who served as the 92nd District’s state representative from 2012 to 2016. Spivey received 3,583 votes (829 here) in the primary vote.


State House, District 62

Incumbent State Rep. Pat Marsh, who was unopposed in the Republican primary, faces Marty Davis, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary.

Marsh received 7,724 (1,917) complimentary primary votes, and Davis received 2,036 (536) complimentary primary votes.


State Exec Committeeman, District 14

Jim Sandman was unopposed in his bid for state executive committeeman, District 14, in the Republican primary, receiving 20,112 votes across the district (3,484 here). He will face Mark Farrar who was unchallenged in the Democratic primary, receiving 7,517 votes district wide (885).


State Exec Committeewoman, District 14

Lynne Davis was unopposed in her bid for state executive committeewoman, District 14, in the Thursday’s Republican primary, receiving 20,410 districtwide votes (3,516 here). She will face Tanea McClean, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary, receiving 7,456 district votes (878).

Recommended for you