District Attorney General Robert J. Carter was recently elected to serve as secretary of the Executive Committee of the Tennessee District Attorneys General Conference. 

In this role, Carter is one of the three officers selected by the elected district attorneys to play a pivotal role in guiding the overall administration of justice in Tennessee.

“My commitment to the citizens of the 17th Judicial District is first and foremost to seek justice,” said Carter. “The work of a prosecutor is often difficult, but we continue to meet the challenges, whether standing up for victims of crime, exploring alternative sentences in appropriate cases or demanding strong punishment for violent criminals.” 

Carter, as a member of the Tennessee District Attorneys Conference Executive Committee, will have oversight of the Conference administration, including budgeting, accounting, payroll, personnel and property management for all district attorneys’ offices throughout the state, as well as training for all personnel statewide.

“General Carter’s experience and common-sense approach to prosecution are valuable assets in coordinating efforts of all district attorneys general throughout the state,” said Executive Director Jerry N. Estes. “We are fortunate to have leaders like Robert Carter who are forward-thinking and committed to developing innovative solutions to difficult problems.”

As district attorney for the 17th Judicial District, Carter is the chief law enforcement official in the district that includes Bedford, Lincoln, Marshall and Moore counties. He was originally appointed by Gov. Bill Haslam in 2012 and subsequently elected to a full term in 2014. He previously served as an assistant district attorney and a private attorney in Nashville.

Carter is originally from the Coldwater community in southwestern Lincoln County. He was an honors graduate of Cumberland University where he also was a member of the varsity football team. He earned his law degree from the University of Memphis, Cecil B. Humphreys School of Law, in 2006. He has served as board member of the Tennessee Supreme Court’s Bench & Bar Committee since 2012.

Recommended for you