EVT wins three state press awards

Lucy Williams (left) and Sandy Williams of The Times hold the two second place awards that the newspaper received for Best Community Lifestyles and Best Website in the annual Tennessee Press Association newspaper contest co-sponsored by the University of Tennessee. A total of 1,424 entries from newspapers across the state were judged as part of the 2018 contest.

For the 10th consecutive year, The Elk Valley Times has taken awards in the Tennessee Press Association’s annual newspaper contests, co-sponsored by the University of Tennessee.

The event, held recently in conjunction with the press association’s summer convention in Franklin, saw The Times take two second place awards – those being in Community Lifestyles and Best Website – as well as a fifth place in Best Business Coverage.

“We truly are dedicated to our community,” said Lucy Williams, editor and publisher. “Every member of our staff works hard week in and week out to provide Fayetteville and Lincoln County with the best community newspaper possible.

“Twelve of the last 13 years, the EVT has taken awards in our state press contests, and each member of our staff has played a crucial role in that,” she added. “Of course, we also appreciate our readers and advertisers – without them, we wouldn’t be here.”

Williams expressed her appreciation to The Times’ staff, recognizing Sandy Williams, news editor; Paul Henry, writer and photographer; Janie Herrin, advertising sales manager; Berta Groce, circulation manager; Pete Jean, who takes care of distribution; Laurie Caruso, staff writer and photographer; and Faith Andres, who takes care of our classifieds section.

This year marked the 77th anniversary of the contest, which began in 1940.

The Tennessean was the biggest winner this year, walking away with 11 top awards, the most of any paper in the state. The Bristol Herald Courier, the News Sentinel (Knoxville), and the Standard Banner (Jefferson City) each received seven first-place awards.

The West Virginia Press Association judged a total of 1,424 entries from 73 of the association’s 124 member newspapers. UT has co-sponsored the annual contest since 1940.

Recommended for you