The Lincoln County Election Commission’s office will open next Wednesday, Feb. 12, as absentee and early voting begins for the presidential preference primary set for March 3.

The sample ballot for the upcoming primary is published on Page 4 of this week’s Times.

Absentee and early voting will continue through Feb. 25 at the election commission’s office located at 208 Davidson Street East, Room 106, in the Ralph Hastings Building. Office hours are from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Monday through Friday and from 8 a.m. until 12 noon on two Saturdays, Feb. 15 and Feb. 22. The election commission will be closed on Monday, Feb. 17, in observance of President’s Day.

According to the sample ballot, certified candidates in the Republican primary number at three, including incumbent Donald J. Trump, Joe Walsh, and Bill Weld. And if you are voting in the Republican primary, you will also be asked to vote for 14 at-large delegates and three 4th Congressional District delegates.

Certified candidates in the Democratic primary number at 15, according to the ballot, including Michael Bennet, Joseph R. Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg, Julian Castro, John K. Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Deval Patrick, Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, Marianne Williamson, and Andrew Yang.

The March 3 Super Tuesday primary will determine which candidates will represent the Republican and Democratic parties on the November ballot. Tennessee joins 13 states to help decide who will be the next president of the United States on Super Tuesday.

State law requires voters to have a Tennessee state or federal issued photo identification when you go to vote. That includes early voting at the election commission office and voting on election day at your assigned polling place.

It is recommended that you vote during the early voting period if you’re registered in Lincoln County and have had a name change or an address change since becoming registered. These changes can be made while early voting.

For more information, contact the election commission at 931-433-6220.


Qualifying for August

Later this year, on Aug. 6, several state primaries will be held, include those for U.S. senator and representative, seats currently held by Lamar Alexander and Scott DesJarlais, respectively. Primaries will also include seats held by State Sen. Shane Reeves, State Rep. Pat Marsh, and State Rep. Rick Tillis.

The county general election on Aug. 6 will also include the assessor of property, held by Paul Braden, the District 8 county commission seat, held by Darren Holland following the resignation of Jon Jacks last May, and four county school board seats, those representing districts 2, 4, 6, and 8, currently held by Kevin Posey, Johnny Collins, Jennifer Haynes, and Thomas (Tommy) Stevenson.

The election commission began issuing petitions for each of those seats Monday, Feb. 3. All qualifying petitions and certified copies must be filed with the commission no later than 12 noon on April 2.

Recommended for you