Editor’s Note: To have an event included in our Religion column, please email evtnews@lcs.net. 

The Fayetteville Cumberland Presbyterian Church will celebrate 50 years at its 1015 Lewisburg Highway location with a homecoming on Sunday, Oct. 27. A special church service is planned for 10:30 a.m., followed by a catered meal in the Fellowship Hall. A time of remembrance and celebration will continue at 1 p.m. The community is invited to be special guests. This congregation has been in Fayetteville for 190 years, having been established in 1829. The pastor is the Rev. Tim Smith. 

October Fall Festival at King Park will be held Saturday, Oct. 19, from 11 a.m. until 5 p.m. There will be vendors, games, live music, spiritual words of God and much more. The event is sponsored by the youth at West End C.P.C.A. Church on Kiwanis Street where the Rev. Dezi Fletcher, Sr., is pastor. Please bring your lawn chair. For more information, contact Mimi at 931-307-5208 or Tonesha at 931-625-5298. 

Fayetteville First Seventh Day Adventist Church will have its “Health and Temperance Day” on Saturday, Oct. 19, at 10:45 a.m. Speaker will be Dr. Roland Hill, and the subject will be “Your Health & Wealth”. A healthy meal will be served afterwards. 

Harms Methodist Church will host a chicken supper on Saturday, Oct. 26, from 4 until 7 p.m. Cost is $10 per plate. You can eat in or take out. Proceeds go towards a new roof for the church. For tickets, contact Chris King at 931-993-5895, Kay Schroeder at 931-625-7736, Cynthia King at 931-993-5898 or any other church member.                    

Brown Temple Cemetery has launched its 2019 fund drive for the maintenance and upkeep of the cemetery, and is asking you to join in this endeavor. Annual dues are $50 per year. If you have family and friends buried at the cemetery, please make a donation to Brown Temple Cemetery Fund, c/o Doris Vance Bailey, 1201 McDonald Street, Fayetteville, 37334. You may also give it to any committee member, including Doris Bailey, Peggy Dance or Michael Hall, co-chairs, Wilma Hockett-Hampton, Lynda Croom, Nina Green, Wanda Foxx, or JC Dunlap.

Recommended for you