Ralph Askins Elementary School students recently participated in a pumpkin book character contest at the school. Winners were selected in each grade, according to Librarian Karrie Pittenger.

The students were asked to decorate their pumpkins to look like a book character for the contest.


Winners in the Pre-K division, from left, are Lynnix Slayton 2nd place, Malaki Covey 1st place, Hank Henderson 3rd place and Jaxon Dennison honorable mention.


Winners in the kindergarten division, from left, are Weston Cain 2nd place, Michael Wilmath honorable mention, McKynlee Denham 3rd place and Piper Stewart 1st place.


Winners in the first-grade division, from left, are Raegan Cole 1st place, Luci Smith 2nd place, Ma’Layah Anderson 3rd place and Hunter Coleman honorable mention.


Winners in the second-grade division, from left, are Everly Holloway 2nd place, Braelyn Young 1st place, Lucas Baker 3rd place and Johan Mejia Flores honorable mention.


Winners in the third-grade division, from left, are Ellasyn Slayton 1st place, Khylin Corbett 2nd place, Dexter Clarke 3rd place and Jack Pitcock honorable mention.


Winners in the fourth-place division, from left, are Nathan Cowart 1st place (not pictured), Ryker Adams 2nd place, Hannah Caldwell 3rd place and Layton Posey honorable mention.