The Alpha Kappa Club of Fayetteville recently recognized  four 2020 Bessie Parks Memorial Scholarship winners. President, Cindy Tinney states that, “In the past, scholarship winners along with their parents and guidance counselors were recognized at an awards lunch in April.  This year we have been unable to schedule our awards luncheon, due to the COVID-19 Pandemic and are unsure when the event will take place”.

Each scholarship winner will receive a $6,000 academic scholarship, to be used for a Tennessee-Supported, Non-Private College or University.

The following students were each awarded a $6,000 scholarship:

Jonathan Ross Neal

Jonathan Ross Neal graduated from Lincoln County High School in 2020. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Darrell Neal of Fayetteville.

Mr. Neal is an honor graduate and was a member of the Beta Club, FFA, and the Leo Club. He also was on the All-District Golf Team and received numerous individual awards for competitive golf on the Alabama Jr. Golf Tour (AJGO) and Sneds Jr. Golf Tour.

He plans to pursue a Bachelor of Science Degree from Tennessee Tech University - Cookeville and further his education at the University of Tennessee, to ultimately attain a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree.

Mr. Neal has been employed at the Highland Rim Animal Clinic for the past two years and is working there during the summer, prior to beginning college.

Mary Faith Howell

Mary Faith Howell is a 2020 honor graduate of Riverside Christian Academy. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Neil Howell and the late Stephanie Silcox Howell.

Ms. Howell was a member of the National Honors Society, student council, a leader in Children’s Ministry, and served as President of Lincoln County Chamber of Commerce Student Advisory Board.

She plans to pursue a major in Business Marketing with a minor in Graphic Design at the University of Tennessee in Chattanooga.

Ms. Howell is currently employed at Spray’s Jewelers.

Calista Danae’ Wilson

Calista Danae’ Wilson is a 2020 honor graduate of Fayetteville High School and is the daughter of Mr. & Mrs. Michael Birdine of Fayetteville.

Ms. Wilson was a member of the Beta Club, National English Honors Society, and the Chamber of Commerce. She achieved High Honor Roll each year and received the Teacher’s Appreciation Award, along with many other academic awards.

She plans to attend the University of Tennessee – Chattanooga, pursuing a bachelor’s degree in the Computer Science Field.

Ms. Wilson is currently employed at Rick’s BBQ in Fayetteville.

William Drake McElyea

William Drake McElyea is a 2020 honor graduate of Fayetteville City High School. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Jay McElyea of Fayetteville.

Mr. McElyea was a Boys State delegate, Student Fair Board Member, Youth Leadership Lincoln, and Fayetteville ARP Youth/Choir Member.

He plans to attend Tennessee Tech University at Cookeville, pursuing a Computer Engineering Degree.

The Alpha Kappa Club extends our gratitude to the local school Guidance/Scholarship Counselors/Coordinators: Ms. Audrey Rose – Lincoln County High School, Ms. Whitney Creasy – Riverside Christian Academy, and Ms. Miranda Pitts – Fayetteville High School for their support.

The Club focuses on a yearly fundraising project that supports our scholarship program. In the past, the project was the “Tour of Homes”, held in conjunction with the Fayetteville “Host of Christmas Past”. This past year, the club ventured into another fundraiser “Boots & Barbeque”, which was a big success and provided the club the opportunity to award an unprecedented number of scholarships to deserving local high school graduates. We are extremely grateful to our community for the support that we have received and proudly congratulate each of our worthy scholarship recipients.

The 2020 Scholarship Committee members are: Jane Rawls Greer – Chairman, Amy Grubb – Past Chairman, Peggy Bagley, Dianne Groce, Melody Lane, Melanie Robinson, and Fran Washburn.