Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Saluting our education leaders

Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 at 2:33 pm

The Lincoln County School System and the Fayetteville City School System join school districts throughout the state to salute their local education leaders this week during Tennessee’s annual School Board Appreciation Week.

The commemorative week is designed to recognize the contributions made by Tennessee’s school board members, including the Lincoln County Board of Education and the Fayetteville Board of Education, which are both charged with governing public education under state law.

Tennessee school board members are chosen by their communities through election or appointment to manage local schools. They oversee multimillion-dollar budgets which fund education programs for more than 935,000 students in approximately 1,784 schools. Their personnel decisions affect more than 69,500 teachers, administrators and support workers.

These volunteer leaders also are responsible for formulating school district policy, approving curricula, maintaining school facilities, and adhering to state and federal education law. Legal concerns and the complexities of school finance, including budgeting and taxation, require them to spend many hours in board training programs and personal study to enhance their understanding of these issues.

Our deepest appreciation is extended to the dedicated men and women who make it possible for local citizens to participate in education in our community. We salute the public servants of the Lincoln County and Fayetteville City school boards whose commitment and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible.

Lincoln County School Board members are Chairman Jerry Pendergrass, Vice Chairman Veronica King, Brandon Kolle, Brent Malone, Thomas (Tommy) Stevenson, Robert Strope, Dexter Sullivan, and June Towry.

Fayetteville City School Board members are Chairman Mark Clark, Vice Chairman Tommy Holland, Joyce Eady, Alice Palacio, Sarah Raby, Jeff Whitmore, and Danny Bryant, ex-officio.

Please join us by saying thank you to our school board members during Tennessee’s School Board Appreciation Week.