Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Motlow PTK wins regional awards

Posted on Saturday, August 2, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Motlow College’s Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) chapter Alpha Xi PI recently participated at a PTK regional convention hosted at Walters State Community College in Sevierville, where members of the Motlow chapter won several awards, according to faculty advisor Dayron Deaton-Owens.

PTK is an international honors society for two-year colleges. The regional conference was a weekend-long event for area PTK chapters.

“It was a fun filled weekend in which the students learned a lot about the new Honors in Action project: Frontiers and The Spirit of Exploration,” said Deaton-Owens.

According to the Phi Theta Kappa website, Honors in Action is the process that provides opportunities to apply learning and practice real-world problem-solving by developing an in-depth, action-oriented project related to honors study topic research.

During a banquet at the convention, Alpha Xi Pi members won awards which honored excellence in organization and leadership. Among the award winners were Dayron Deaton-Owens, who received the Distinguished Advisor Award; Misty Griffith, winner of the Paragon Award for new advisors; Holly Campbell, second place for the Chapter Member Award; and John Thomas Morgan Jr., second place for the Chapter Officer Award.

John Thomas Morgan Jr., Calleb Capshaw, and Clifton Tubb earned the first place award for Chapter Officer Team. Alpha Xi Pi received second place for the Honors in Action and College Project Award.

Three members of the Motlow chapter also ran for regional office. Penny Crouch ran for president, Clifton Tubb ran for middle vice president, and Holly Campbell ran for secretary.

“This was a great leadership opportunity for the three of them and they had a great time doing this,” added Deaton-Owens.

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa at Motlow, students may contact the chapter advisors for their respective centers by calling Gregg Garrison (McMinnville) at 931-668-7010, Laura Brown (Moore County) at 931-393-1538, Nathan Sweeton (Smyrna) at 615-220-7804 or Laura Monks (Fayetteville) at 931-438-0028.