Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

FMS ends perfect season, hosts tourney

Posted on Monday, April 22, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Fayetteville Middle School’s Tiger soccer team finished its regular season Thursday night with a 12-0 win over Webb.

The victory gives the Tigers a perfect 9-0 regular season record.

Pictured (front, from left) are Carter Hill, Stephen Yatsko, Connor Reed, Alex Broderick, Christopher Granados, Chandler Heffington, McKenlee Jean, Weston Moon, Zach Snoddy, (rear) Coach Katie Walker, Henry Pace, Jonathan Pigg, Drew Womble, Zakyus Tate, James Fee, John Perry, Isaiah Watkins, Spencer King and Justin Sisk. Assistant Coach Katie Henderson is not pictured.

They will enter The Central Tennessee Conference Tournament seeded number one and will be the host school on Friday and Saturday of this week.

FMS gets a bye the first round and will enter the semi-finals, playing the winner of St. Andrews and Cascade on Friday at 5 p.m. They will be followed by another semi-final game at 6:30 p.m. with the winners of the RCA vs. Lincoln County and Westwood vs. Webb games played earlier in the week. The finals will be played Saturday morning starting at 9:30 and 11 a.m.

FMS started their preseason action on Feb. 9 in Cascade on a play day, defeating Lincoln County 3-0; RCA 3-0; Cascade 4-0; and a tie of 0-0 with Westwood.

The following are the scores and stats of their regular season games:

Cascade, 3-0, goals by James Fee, Stephen Yatsko and Zakyus Tate;

Bridgeforth of Giles County, 1-0, goal by Stephen Yatsko;

E.A. Cox of Columbia, 6-0, goals by James Fee (2), Stephen Yatsko (2), Zakyus Tate and Connor Reed;

South Franklin County, 5-2, goals by James Fee (2), Zakyus Tate, Drew Womble and Connor Reed;

St. Andrews of Sewanee, 6-0, goals by James Fee (2), Drew Womble, Zakyus Tate, Stephen Yatsko and Connor Reed;

Westwood, 2-1, goals by James Fee;

RCA, 4-0, goals by James Fee (2), Connor Reed and Isaiah Watkins;

Webb, 12-0, goals by James Fee (3), John Perry (2), Zakyus Tate (2), Drew Womble, Spencer King, Weston Moon, Henry Pace and Jonathan Pigg.

Lincoln County forfeited to FMS, creating a score of 1-0.