Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Early voting begins in Presidential primaries

Posted on Monday, February 6, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Early voting in the March 6 Presidential Preference Primary begins Wednesday of next week, Feb. 15, and continues through Feb. 28.

A sample ballot appears on Page 5A of this week’s Times, and according to it, candidates in the Presidential primaries are Michele Bachmann, Newt Gingrich, Jon Huntsman, Gary Johnson, Ron Paul, Rick Perry, Charles (Buddy) Roemer, Mitt Romney, and Rick Santorum in the Republican primary and Barack Obama in the Democratic primary.

Also on the Republic ballot are two fields of delegates, from which voters will be asked to select 14 for at-large positions and three for Fourth Congressional District seats. Fifty-three candidates are in the at-large primary and 11 are in the district primary.

The Lincoln County Election Commission is located at 208 Davidson Street East, Fayetteville, in Room 106 of the Ralph Hastings Building. The office is open from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. Monday through Friday, and from 8 a.m. until 12 noon on Saturdays, Feb. 18 and 25, during the early voting timeframe. The office will be closed Monday, Feb. 20, in observance of President’s Day.

Voters are reminded that sate law now requires them to have a photo identification when present themselves to vote, and this does include early voting at the Election Commission office and voting on election day at assigned polling places. Voters who do not have a valid photo ID may obtain free photo identification for voting from any participating Department of Safety driver service center across the state. Here in Lincoln County, the center is located on Thornton Taylor Parkway.

Officials are encouraging folks to vote during the early voting period. Also, if you are registered in Lincoln County and have had a name change or an address change since becoming registered, these changes can be made while early voting.

For additional information, contact the Election Commission at (931) 433-6220.

The March 6 primary elections mark one of three occasions voters here in Lincoln County will cast ballots during 2012.

In August, local voters will have state primaries for the House of Representatives, U.S. Senate and U.S. Representative on the ballot, as well as four county school board seats, assessor of property and, in Petersburg, three town council seats.

In November, the Presidential election, as well as state elections and Fayetteville city elections will be on the ballot. Locally, Fayetteville voters will elect three aldermen and three school board members.

Aug. 2 Elections

State primaries for the Tennessee House of Representatives as well as U.S. Senate and U.S. Representative will be on the Aug. 2 ballot in the first election impacted by the redrawing of district lines.

Currently, Lincoln County is represented by State Rep. Pat Marsh in District 62 and State Rep. David Alexander in District 39. While the greater northern portion of the county will remain in Marsh’s district, southern Lincoln County will be in a newly created District 92.

U.S. Rep. Scott DesJarlais’s District – the Fourth Congressional District – will also be impacted by redistricting. Formerly known as Tennessee’s most sprawling district, the Fourth goes from including 24 counties from Kentucky to Alabama to representing 16 southern Middle Tennessee counties. Consequently, DesJarlais will represent a new district, clearing the way what is sure to be a competitive ballot for this area’s representation.

U.S. Sen. Bob Corker’s seat will also be on the Aug. 2 ballot.

Lincoln County Board of Education seats on the August ballot will include District 2, currently held by Dexter Sullivan; District 4, held by June Towry; District 6, held by Brent Malone; and District 8, held by Tommy Stevenson.

The county’s assessor of property, on the Aug. 2 ballot as well, is currently held by Tammy Moore, who has said she will not seek re-election.

Petersburg Town Council seats on the ballot include those currently held by Kenneth Bolles, Bradley Dillenback II, and Phillip Bolander.

The registration deadline for the Aug. 2 election is July 3, and early voting for that election will be July 13-28.

Nov. 6 Elections

Topping the ballot in November will be the Presidential election and the state general election, which will see those winners from the August primaries squaring off.

Also on the Nov. 6 ballot, Fayetteville voters will have three alderman’s seats and three city school board.

The alderman’s seats are currently held by Danny Bryant, Pat Fraley and Michael Stewart.

And the school board seats are those currently held by Jack Raby, Joyce Eady and Alice Palacio.

The registration deadline is Oct. 9 for the election, and early voting will take place Oct. 17 through Nov. 1.