Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Dye named to TECA trustees

Posted on Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 8:04 am

Britt Dye

Britt Dye

Fayetteville Public Utilities CEO and General Manager Britt Dye was recently elected as a member of the Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association Board of Trustees at the 71st annual meeting of the TECA membership last month.

Elections were held for four-year positions on the TECA board of trustees. Robert Kendrick, board member at Southwest Tennessee Electric Membership Corporation, was elected from Region I. Dye, CEO and General Manager of Fayetteville Public Utilities, was elected from Region II. Robert Drinnen, Appalachian Electric Cooperative board member, was elected from Region III.

“Congratulations to those who have been chosen for leadership roles,” said David Callis, TECA’s general manager. “We appreciate their service and are confident they will provide sound direction and represent Tennessee’s electric cooperatives with honor.”

“We are very proud to have Mr. Dye represent FPU, Fayetteville and Lincoln County on the TECA Board of Trustees,” said Janine Wilson, chairperson of FPU’s board of directors. “Mr. Dye is a forward-thinking leader for this utility and community, and I am certain that he will be an asset to the TECA board as well.”

Dye has been employed at FPU for 35 years. Over the years, he’s fulfilled duties as an entry-level groundman, a journeyman lineman, substation and metering supervisor and director of engineering and operations. He was named FPU’s CEO and general manager in 2006

The Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association is a trade group representing the interests of Tennessee’s 23 electric distribution cooperatives and the 1.1 million consumers they serve.