Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

County schools urged to prepare for future

Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 at 2:14 am

With development continuing in southern areas of the county, Lincoln County Board of Education officials were urged last week to prepare for future.

Pointing to a new apartment complex being planned on Jenkins Road and other developments in the area, Thomas (Tommy) Stevenson, said he and his fellow board members should be taking action and planning to meet increased educational demands resulting from that growth.

“I would encourage this board to not wait four more years,” he said, during the Board of Education’s April session, going on to add the board should be seriously looking for land to accommodate another school.

County schools serving southern Lincoln County are already at capacity, officials have said, and previous attempts to identify and secure property have thus far been unsuccessful.

In other business during the April meeting, board members voted to approve a bid by Central States in the amount of $49,034 for the installation of 30 bus systems, eight bus cameras and 10 bus global positioning satellite (GPS) modules.

With the action, the county’s full fleet of school buses will be equipped with cameras and GPS capability, said Dr. Wanda Shelton, director of schools. “We’ll be able to tell at any point in time where all of our buses are,” she said.

Additionally, the board approved a bid by Jerry Mullins Construction Co. for $26,595 for the installation of a metal roof at the Lincoln County High School field house.

The board had previously approved a $24,250 bid for the installation, but officials subsequently realized the bidder did not include in its bid all the information required.

The board recognized Angela Beale and the Tennessee Mid-State and All-State band members, Will Gentry, Sara Nimmo, Ashley Ramsey, Katherine Adams, all of Lincoln County High School, and Katie Keener of Ninth Grade Academy.

Students who placed second in the state quiz bowl at the Tennessee Cattlemen’s state convention were recognized. They included Janie Peery and Abigayle Pollock.

Charla Hurt and the SCOPE delegates for 2013 were recognized. The delegates are Kyle Davis, Karen Martinez, Matt Parker, Felicity Sink, Laura Beth Todd, and Patrick Wright.

Changes were also approved on first reading in policy 6.304, student discrimination, harassment, and bullying, intimidation and cyber bullying.

David Golden, principal of Flintville Elementary School, was recognized to discuss positive news from the school, and Joel Hastings, supervisor, presented highlights for the school system.