Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Commissioners honored for decades of service

Posted on Wednesday, October 2, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Four long-time members of the Lincoln County Commission were honored by the fellow county officials during their September meeting and following recognition given by the Tennessee County Commissioners Association at its annual conference.

“Tennessee and Lincoln County is lucky to have this record of dedication and service,” said County Mayor Peggy Bevels as she presented certificates honoring the four commissioners during the Lincoln County Commission meeting.

Honored are Shirley Dangerfield, who has 20 years of service as a county commissioner here, Tommy Stevenson with 24 years, Donny Ogle with 32 years and Steve Graham with 36 years — combined, the record of service by those four commissioners spans 112 years.

“This means the people of your district trust and believe in you, and know you do a good job … so thank you to each one of you,” Bevels added.

In other business during the commission’s September meeting, commissioners re-appropriated $24,500 in funds previously approved but not spent for refurbishing the Park City Volunteer Fire Department. The work will also accommodate housing a portion of other emergency equipment at the department.

The commission also approved an amendment to an agreement for engineering services with Trestles, LLC. The services will be funded with five cents of this last fiscal year’s property tax increase, which is restricted for industrial and community development. The services are in support of plans to deliver sewer service to the Park City area.

Commissioners voted to accept the County Budget Committee’s recommendation to not fund a request for $2,500 to the William Carey Baptist Association that would have assisted in the purchase of disaster recovery equipment. Association volunteers had said during previous meetings that the equipment would help, potentially here in Lincoln County, clear debris from areas struck by disasters such as tornadoes. The vote to not fund the request passed with 18 in favor, one opposed, and five absent.

An extended school program budget amendment was approved, which included funds to repair and replace lighting on athletic fields at Flintville School.

A sheriff’s department vehicle, 2005 Dodge Ram, was declared surplus property with a vote of the commission and will be sold.

Additionally, Bevels was re-elected to serve as chair of the commission, and Commissioner Doug Cunningham was re-elected the body’s chair pro-tempore.

The reappointments of Bob Bankston, Bill Beasley and Brian Rutledge as judicial commissioners were also approved. Their terms are set to expire in September 2014.

Re-appointed to the legislative body’s standing Lincoln County Ethics Commission, also with terms to expire in September 2014, were commissioners Doug Cunningham, Mark Monks, Shirley Dangerfield, and David Smith, as well as Ron Mahal.

Randy Delap, Betty Creson and Brenda Roles were appointed to the Three-Star Housing Committee, also with terms to expire in a year.