Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Classes of 2013 to take final walk

Posted on Wednesday, May 15, 2013 at 11:15 am

Graduation capCommencement exercises for Lincoln County High School and Riverside Christian Academy will be held this week – RCA’s Thursday evening, May 16, and LCHS’s Friday night, May 17.

Lincoln County High School

Graduation exercises at LCHS will be held on Friday evening, May 17, beginning at 7:30 p.m. in Meadows-Thompson Stadium on the school’s campus.

Corey Smith’s “I’m Not Going to Cry” will be performed by the Elk River Boys, comprised of Zach Carter, Calvin Kidd and Casey Massey, all members of the Class of 2013. Then Alan Billingsley’s “Lean on Me” will be performed by the LCHS and Ninth Grade Academy chorus.

The moment of silence and Pledge of Allegiance will be led by Mackenzie Watson, secretary of the senior class. Laura Beth Todd will lead the student body address, and Katie Mooney will deliver class president’s address. Morgan Helums will present the salutatorian address, followed by Riley Malone who will deliver the valedictorian address.

Jacob Sorrells, principal, will issue the diplomas, and Morgan Helums, sergeant-at-arms of the senior class, will give closing remarks. Liz Faulkner, vice president of the senior class, will lead the turning of the tassel.

The class flower for the LCHS Class of 2013 is the stargazer lily, and the class motto is “To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong,” by J.C. Pearce.

The top 10 graduating seniors are, in academic order, Riley Malone, Morgan Helums, Meghan Sullenger, Kristen Hancock, Rebecca Hone, Ben Massey, Tabatha Beverly, Erin Moyers, Rena Andrews, and Zach Carter.

Flowers will be placed in the seats in memory of deceased classmates.

Riverside Christian Academy

Riverside Christian Academy will hold commencement ceremonies Thursday evening, May 16, at 7 p.m. at RCA’s gymnasium.

Buddy Bell, preacher and senior minister at Landmark Church of Christ in Montgomery, Ala., will deliver the commencement address.

Jessica Osier is valedictorian of this year’s class. Corey Albert is salutatorian. Reagan Eldridge will be presented the Golden Seal Award which recognizes attendance at RCA from the inaugural year in 2001.