Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Chamber banquet Monday evening

Posted on Friday, October 11, 2013 at 6:12 am

The Fayetteville/Lincoln County Chamber of Commerce will hosts its 47th Annual Membership Banquet Monday evening, Oct. 14, at Lincoln County High School.

This year’s banquet will honor winners from the following member businesses, organizations and individuals who were nominated and then voted on by Chamber members, said Carolyn Denton, executive director.

Businesses nominated in the for-profit category of recognition are American Development Corp., Bagley and Bagley Insurance, First Class Printing, Gerald’s Foodland, and The Exchange.

Not-for-profit organizations nominated in that category are Carriage House Players, Fayetteville/Lincoln County Humane Society, Goodwill Industries, Junior’s House, and The Fabulous Fifties Show.

Individuals nominated for recognition are Thomas Bailey; Peggy Bevels, mayor of Lincoln County; Randy Delap, the county’s register of deeds; State Rep. Pat Marsh; Mary Jane Porter, trustee of Lincoln County; and John Ed Underwood, mayor of the City of Fayetteville.

“Since being nominated by our members, these businesses, organizations and individuals have been voted upon, also by our members, and the winners will be announced and honored during the banquet,” said Denton.

“Each of these are worthy of this recognition, and we’re just excited to recognize those voted as the most outstanding by our members,” she added.

The new president of the Chamber for 2013-14 is Chuck Barnes of Fayetteville Public Utilities. Serving as president-elect is Sandra Morrison of FirstBank. Dan Holt, of Lincoln County Vending and Shoney’s, is secretary, and treasurer is Mark Howell of David Kidd, CPA’s. Past-president is Laura Monks, director of the Motlow College Fayetteville Center.

Also serving on the board are Randy Delap, register of deeds; Gini Carver, Frito-Lay; Betty Creson, CB&S Bank; Jamie Guin of Lincoln County Health System; Jason Nix, First National Bank; John Karby, Edward Jones; Mark Posey, Lincoln Farmers Co-op; and Johnny Collins, Sonic Drive-In. Ex-officio members are Peggy Bevels, John Ed Underwood, Commissioner David Smith, Alderman Dorothy Small, and Elaine Middleton, IDB director.

“We are certainly looking forward to working with our newly elected officers as well as the entire board of directors,” Denton added. “And we’d also like to thank those directors rotating off the board. We very much appreciate the dedication of time, talents and service to the Chamber of Commerce.”

Rotating off the board are Ley Jean of the Bank of Lincoln County, Sandie Twitty of His and Her’s Antiques, and Lucy Williams of The Elk Valley Times.