Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

Carr explores run for congressional seat

Posted on Wednesday, January 2, 2013 at 1:23 am

Joe Carr

Joe Carr

State Rep. Joe Carr, from Tennessee’s 48th District, has announced the formation of a campaign exploratory steering committee focused on testing the waters in a potential bid for Tennessee’s 4th Congressional District.

The district stretches across 16 counties in southern middle and east Tennessee and includes Lincoln County. The exploratory committee will be tasked with determining the viability of a successful run to replace U.S. Congressman Scott DesJarlais in the 2014 Republican Primary.

“The formation of the exploratory committee is in response to an outpouring of people from all across the 4th congressional district, asking me to consider running for this office,” said Carr. “The voters have told me that a trust has been violated. The voters want someone who not only lives by their values but will fight for them. The time for back slapping good ole boy politics is over, and Tennesseans understand this.

“I’m extremely proud to represent my fellow Tennesseans in the 48th legislative district and will continue to do so while my family, friends and I determine what is in the best interest of this great state,” he added.

Lee Beaman will chair the committee and in offering his support of Representative Carr said, “We need someone like Representative Carr who understands the principles of personal responsibility and a smaller more efficient government. Joe understands the policy needs of Tennessee and is able to effectively communicate those positions. I certainly hope Joe pursues this.”

Dr. Nate Schott, former chairman of the Rutherford County Republican Party in Murfreesboro, stated, “Joe has an intensity and passion for what’s right seldom seen in our elected leaders. I intend to do all I can to assist Joe in making the best decision, not only for himself and his family but also for the great state of Tennessee. I have encouraged Joe to seriously consider taking his conservative values to Washington D.C. as our next congressman.”

Partial lists of Tennesseans who have volunteered for the exploratory committee are Chairman Lee Beaman, Dr. Nate Schott, W. Ransom Jones, Sheriff Robert Arnold, Bert McCarter, Karen Hudson, Dr. Ron McDow, Rick Peppers,  John Simmonds, Edwin McKnight, Laura Messick, Mishelle Perkins, Jane and Cliff Sharp,     Dr. Brent Boles      and Donald Blankenship.