Lifestyles » Education

A member of Delta Kappa Gamma reads to children during the Gover-nor’s Books from Birth Foundation, Books from Birth 10th Anniversary Tour held at the Stone Bridge Academic Learning Center.

Books from Birth tour bus rolls in at SBA

Posted on September 17, 2014 at 5:02 am

Children and their parents visited Stone Bridge Academic Learning Center Tuesday for the Governor’s Books from Birth 10th Anniversary. In addition to enrolling children in the Imagination Library program, the activities included recognizing the work of volunteers and donors and engaging communities in support of the program. Members of Delta Kappa Gamma read to the children and served a story-related treat, and there were also reading-themed give-a-ways from the Governors

Read Full Story

Education » Older Stories

  • Wakefield earns TSBA’s Student Recognition

    Posted on September 15, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    Bonnie Wakefield (at center), a senior at Fayetteville High School, received the Student Recognition Award at the annual Fall District Meeting of the Tennessee School Boards Association’s South Central District. Pictured with Bonnie at the awards ceremony Thursday evening are her parents, Colin and Nan Wakefield; Dr. Janine Wilson, director of schools, Fayetteville City School System; Alice Palacio, representing the Fayetteville School Board; and Mark Clark, chairman of the Fayetteville School Board and TSBA South Central District director.

    Fayetteville’s Bonnie Wakefield was honored last week with the Tennessee School Boards Association (TSBA) Student Recognition Award. Accompanied by representatives of the Fayetteville City School System and her parents, Colin and Nan Wakefield, Bonnie was presented the award during TSBA’s South Central Fall District Meeting held at Marshall County High School. Each year TSBA honors one student from each of its nine districts who has achieved distinction in the areas

    Read Full Story
  • Hix instructs teachers in Maker Faire session

    Posted on September 10, 2014 at 7:32 am

    Maker Faire

    Billy Hix, associate professor of education at Motlow College and director of the Motlow STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) program, recently contributed to the Lincoln County school system’s adoption of the national “Maker Faire” campaign. According to Hix, Maker Faire is a new educational movement currently taking place in schools all across the United States. It has been inspired by research and the best-selling book, “The Art of Tinkering”

    Read Full Story
  • FCCLA members bring home medals

    Posted on September 8, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    FCCLA members Lori Mae Braden (left) and Katie Campbell show the medals they earned during the FCCLA National Leadership Conference in San Antonio, Texas. Both of the girls received a score of 100 in the event, “Chapter in Review”.

    Two members of the Lincoln County High School Chapter of Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) brought home gold medals from the FCCLA National Leadership Conference. The conference was held July 6-10 in San Antonio, Texas. Lori Mae Braden and Katie Campbell received a score of 100 in the event, “Chapter in Review’. Adviser Renea Thomas said, “I am very proud of these two girls. Not only did

    Read Full Story
  • County kicks off special ed child find

    Posted on September 8, 2014 at 2:31 pm

    Child Find is a component of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) that requires states to identify, locate and evaluate all children with disabilities who are in need of special education services. This process assists in locating students, between the ages of three and 21, suspected of having disabilities who would benefit from services. This includes locating students who are not in school, those in school, but not receiving

    Read Full Story
  • Thomas honored as outstanding professor at MTSU

    Posted on September 2, 2014 at 8:36 am

    Dr. Paula Thomas was honored as the 13th recipient of the Career Achievement Award during MTSU’s Fall Faculty meeting at Tucker Theatre. (MTSU photo by J. Intintoli)

    With more than 30 years of service molding future accountants as a member of the Jones College of Business faculty, Dr. Paula Thomas was honored recently as the 13th recipient of the Career Achievement Award during MTSU’s Fall Faculty meeting at Tucker Theatre. Thomas holds the Deloitte Foundation Professorship in Accounting, an honor “that reflects her success in instilling knowledge and professionalism in students and preparing them for careers,” University

    Read Full Story
  • Duckett earns MTSU scholarship

    Posted on September 2, 2014 at 5:36 am

    Duckett, Walter

    Walter Norris Duckett, a transfer student from Motlow State Community College, has been awarded Middle Tennessee State University’s highest scholarship for transfer students, the Honors Transfer Fellowship. In addition to maintaining a 4.0 grade point average, Duckett is a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and the Motlow College Honors Program. HIs school activities include serving as a senator in the Student Government Association and as president of the

    Read Full Story

National News - Education

Headlines of the Day