Lifestyles » Education

James Keith

Wakefield, Keith represent Girls, Boys State

Posted on April 15, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Bonnie Wakefield selected as Fayetteville High School’s 2014 Volunteer Girls State Delegate, while James Keith is the school’s American Legion Boys State Delegate. Volunteer Girls State (VGS) is a leadership and citizenship-training program offered to young women in Tennessee by the American Legion Auxiliary (ALA). Nationally recognized as one of the top Girls State programs in the nation, Volunteer Girls State provides young women the opportunity to form and run

Read Full Story

Education » Older Stories

  • South Lincoln poets capture spring in rhythm, rhyme

    Posted on April 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    South Lincoln School eighth graders, who won the recent Eighth Grade Spring Poetry Contest, display poems they wrote. They are (kneeling, from left) Connor Fowler, Evann Fowler, Blake Moore, (standing) Maegan Porter, Emily Bradford and Alyssa Thompson.

    South Lincoln School and Brenda George are proud to announce the following winners of the eighth grade Spring Poetry Contest. The winners are Emily Bradford, Connor Fowler, Evann Fowler, Blake Moore, Maegan Porter and Alyssa Thompson. The winning poems included the following elements of poetry; rhyme, rhyme scheme, internal rhyme, slant rhyme assonance, slant rhyme consonance, onomatopoeia, metaphor, simile, personification, hyperbole, repetition, a title with alliteration, and a hand-drawn border

    Read Full Story
  • Ladies Society awards $24,500 in scholarships

    Posted on April 14, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    The Southern Tennessee Ladies’ Society recently awarded $24,500 in scholarships to area high school students. Pictured here are scholarship recipients (from left) Cole Johnson, Grundy County High School; Vanity Womble, Tullahoma High School; Carlee Lynn Ward, Moore County High School; Anna Spellings, Coffee County Central High School; Sydni Wilkinson and Abigail Williams, Franklin County High School; and Steven Ho, Lincoln County High School. Each was awarded a $3,500 scholarship.

    CYNDI RAYBERN special to the times To the Southern Tennessee Ladies’ Society, five years of hard work and dedication has paid off. The organization has awarded scholarships to thirty-five students in the amount of over $90,000. Seven inspiring students from five counties received scholarships at the STLS April meeting; four of those plan careers in the medical field, three are attending Tennessee Tech, two have part-time jobs while taking honor

    Read Full Story
  • Clark essay wins state TCA contest

    Posted on April 14, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    Katie Clark

    An essay by Katherine (Katie) Clark, a senior at Lincoln County High, is expected to be published in the spring issue of the Tennessee Concrete magazine, published by the Tennessee Concrete Association. Katie received a $100 scholarship award from the association for her award-winning essay. A member of the LCHS First Robotics Team and the Beta Club, Katie is planning to attend the University in Alabama this fall and pursue

    Read Full Story
  • Ag Issues

    Posted on April 11, 2014 at 7:46 am

    Ag Issues --

    Lincoln County High School’s FFA Chapter Agricultural Issues Team tied for fifth place at the state convention in their skit covering the importance of agriculture awareness. Pictured (front, from left) are Jordyn Atkinson, Kaitlin Ellis, Taylor Howell, Sydney Formentine, (rear) Mason Mullins and Alex Tanner.

    Read Full Story
  • FFA Degrees

    Posted on April 11, 2014 at 6:45 am

    FFA Degrees --

    Lincoln County High School FFA Chapter members pause for a photo after being awarded the prestigious State FFA Degree. Pictured (from left) are Peyton Hopkins, Kellie Parker, Skylee Burtts and Janie Peery. Not pictured is Susan Cowley.

    Read Full Story
  • Ag Marketing

    Posted on April 11, 2014 at 5:45 am

    Ag Marketing --

    The Agricultural Marketing team from Lincoln County High School’s FFA Chapter placed fourth during state competition. Pictured (from left) are Amber Gentry, Ben Cox and Lauren Rouse, members of the team.

    Read Full Story

National News - Education

Headlines of the Day