Charter commission to be sworn

Lincoln County’s new Charter Commission members will be sworn into office Wednesday, Nov. 28, at the Lincoln County Courthouse.

The swearing in will be held at 9 a.m. in the county mayor’s office.

The new commissioners, who were elected to office on Nov. 6, include John W. Stiles, representing District 1; Gene J. Shreve, District 2; Daryl Luna, District 3; Fonville Mitchell, District 4; Charles Maridon, District 5; Jimmy P. Gulley, District 6; Danny C. Owens, District 7; and Peter Anderson, District 8.

The commission was established to draft a charter for a new form of government – often referred to as a “home rule” form of government – that will be placed before voters here in a referendum.

Posted on Wednesday, November 28, 2012 at 8:46 am