Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

6,926 cast ballots early

Posted on Tuesday, November 6, 2012 at 9:32 am

It was a record turnout here in Lincoln County as well as statewide during early voting for this week’s elections.

Here in Lincoln County, 6,926 took advantage of early voting, just a fraction of the 1.4 million who participated across Tennessee during the 14-day period, according to state election officials.

On Election Day Tuesday of this week, Nov. 6, polls were to open at 9 a.m. and remain open until 7 p.m. as voters cast their ballot for President of the United States, for a number of federal and state offices, and local elections.

The Times will be carrying results from the Lincoln County Election Commission as they become available at www.elkvalleytimes.com. Additionally, the newspaper will be texting results to subscribers of its TextCaster service and twittering to its followers on Twitter. WYTM 105.5 FM will also be on the air, reporting results as they come in.

In the Presidential election, Barack Obama and vice presidential running mate Joe Biden (Dem.) are on the ballot along with Mitt Romney and his running mate Paul Ryan (Rep.), as well as a host of Independent candidates, including Virgil Goode and running mate Jim Clymer, Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala, Ross C. (Rocky) Anderson and Luis Rodriguez, Gary Johnson and James Gray, and Merlin Miller and Virginia Abernethy.

Incumbent Bob Corker (Rep.) faces Mark E. Clayton (Dem.) in the race for U.S. Senate, as well as a number of other candidates, including Kermit Steck, nominee of the  Constitution Party, Martin Pleasant, Green Party nominee, and independent candidates Shaun Crowell, David Gatchell, James Higdon, Michel Joseph Long, and Troy Stephen Scoggin.

Incumbent Scott DesJarlais (Rep.) faces Eric Stewart (Dem.) in the election for the U.S. House of Representatives, 4th Congressional District.

In the race for the new 92nd state House seat, Bill Spivey (Rep.) and Vicki C. Cain (Dem.) are squaring off.

Incumbent Pat Marsh (Rep.) is unchallenged in his bid for re-election the Tennessee House of Representatives, 62nd District, as is incumbent Jim Tracy (Rep.), state senator representing the 14th District.

In Fayetteville city elections, seven candidates, including two incumbents and a former mayor, are on the ballot for three aldermanic seats on Fayetteville’s City Board. Also, four candidates, including two incumbents, are on the ballot for three seats on the City School Board.

In races for aldermen will be incumbents Danny Bryant and Michael Stewart, as well as challengers Jerry K. Milstead, Gwen Shelton, Homer Thompson and Michael Thomas Whisenant.

Candidates on the ballot for the Fayetteville Board of Education include incumbents Joyce K. Eady and Alice B. Palacio. A third seat is also on the ballot – it is currently held by Jack Raby, and while Raby isn’t seeking re-election, his wife, Sarah Raby, is seeking the seat. Also on the ballot is Charles T. (Tim) Womack.

Also on the city ballot in November is the referendum on raising sales and use tax in Fayetteville from 2.5 to 2.75%, or from 9.5 to 9.75% overall, including the state’s portion. City officials have said that without the increase, city property tax rates could increase by as much as 42 cents next year.

Also on the ballot are seats on the Charter Commission. Candidates are on the ballot in six of the county’s eight districts.

No one is on the ballot in either District 5 or District 8. In those districts, seats would be treated as vacancies and filled by Lincoln County Commission appointments.

In District 1, two candidates are on the ballot – those being Joseph Brent Knight and John W. Stiles.

In District 2, only one candidate is on the ballot, that being Gene J. Shreve.

In District 3, two candidates, Daryl Luna and Mary Ann Meyer-Schuck, are on the ballot. In District 4, Fonville Mitchell is the lone candidate on the ballot.

In District 6, Jimmy P. Gulley and Roger D. Welch are on the ballot, and in District 7, Danny C. Owens is on the ballot.