Elk Valley Times

Follow Us On:

28th Annual Fabulous Fifties Show returns for 2014

Posted on Wednesday, March 5, 2014 at 8:01 am

The 28th Annual Fabulous Fifties Show is quickly approaching, with five evening performances and three afternoon shows set for later this month.

Show dates and times are March 20, 21, 22, 28 and 29 at 7 p.m. each evening and March 22, 23 and 29 at 1 p.m. each afternoon. Again this year, the show will be performed in the auditorium of Ninth Grade Academy at 900 South Main Avenue in Fayetteville.

“We are trying a Sunday afternoon performance for the first time this year,” said Jane Wilcox, producer. “By having it at 1 p.m., we hope that our fans will come on over to 900 South Main Avenue after their Sunday services and lunch, and enjoy our show. If there’s no time to eat before coming to see us, we will have concessions at the venue.

“Since everyone will already be up and dressed, what better way to spend the afternoon than by having some good, clean fun and supporting a great cause at the same time?”

Tickets may be purchased at Bagley & Bagley Insurance, Bank of Lincoln County, Carter’s Drug Store, CB&S Bank, Fayetteville/Lincoln County Chamber of Commerce, First Commerce Bank, First National Bank, Lincoln County Trustee’s Office, and Region’s Bank. For more information and to order tickets, call (931) 433-3933. Tickets are $15 for adults, $5 for children ages 3 to 12 and free for children under age 3 when held by an adult.

“Please ‘Like’ us on Facebook at The Fabulous Fifties Show, Fayetteville, Tennessee,” Mrs. Wilcox said. “We’ll also have pictures from past shows there, and you can get updates on what we are doing now to get ready for our current show. It’s also a great way to get to know us before you see us on stage.”

All of our proceeds from The Fabulous Fifties Show go to The Multi-County Cancer Support Network, which provides emotional, educational and financial support to cancer patients who reside in Bedford, Coffee, Franklin, Grundy, Lincoln, Marion, Moore and Warren counties.

Lately, the need has been tremendous, so we are grateful to be able to add to the coffers so that more people stricken by this dread disease can be helped,” she said.

“We are so very blessed to have so many dedicated and talented people that make up our show,” noting that all participants are volunteers.

Among those helping make the show possible are the actors, including Randy Delap, Makinsie Gault, Mike Hines, Rickey Honey, Mark Mitchell, Olivia Mooney, Jacob Painter, Sara Jo Pierce, John Richardson, Callie Thirlwell, Ben Spears, Catherine Sullivan, Meg Walker, and Jeff Wilcox.

Backup singers for the show will be Mickie Bigham, Lucy Cowley, Andrea Delap, Mike Hines, Josh Ogle, Katie Steuart, and Sharon Williams.

Performing in the band for the 2014 shows are Jeff Barnes, bass guitar; Mickie Bigham, tambourine; Lauren Clardy, fiddle; Dr. Chris Gafford, drums; Sammy Luna, banjo; Jacob Painter, harmonica; Dale Pierce, guitar; David Powelson, trumpet; Jerry Taylor, lead guitar; Mary Jane Porter, keyboard; and Steven Wallis, organ/synthesizer.

Singers will include Mickie Bigham, Brett Boyd, Jessica Buckley, Elyssha Corder, Chris Counts, Lucy Cowley, J.B. Cox, Odessa Dangerfield, Andrea Delap, Nici Gill, Susan Hamilton, Mike Hines, Rachel Hovis, Dwight King, Kristie Bigham McElyea, Josh Ogle, Jacob Painter, Sara Jo Pierce, Mary Jane Porter, John Richardson, Gladys Simpson, Dorothy Small, Lindsey Smith, Ben Spears, Katie Steuart, Erin Bigham Sutton, Brianne Bigham Towry, Shay Bigham Ulrich, Steven Wallis, Dorothy Webb, Sharon Williams, and Jeff Wilcox.

Dancers taking to the stage for the benefit are Jessica Buckley, Makinsie Gault, Olivia Mooney, John Richardson, Jacob Painter, Callie Thirlwell, Ben Spears, and Jeff Wilcox.

Taking care of the artwork for the show this year are Carl Gleghorn, backdrop and logo; Fayetteville High School Art Students, backdrop; and Carla Gault and Janie Quick on props.

The choreography is by Jessica Buckley, head choreographer, Olivia Mooney, and Jeff Wilcox.

And this year’s script is written by Deborah O’Connor.